Astro Spectra question

Post Reply
User avatar
wmdecker20
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:47 pm

Astro Spectra question

Post by wmdecker20 » Sun Apr 22, 2018 2:49 pm

Hello all,

I have an Astro Spectra in my pov that I’m wanting to change some stuff in programming wise.

I already have the software, given to me by the person I bought it from, but need to know what kind of programming setup I need for a computer with usb connections only. It’s for a low power (45 watt radio).

Also, will I be able to program the radio with Windows 7 or do I need to find something with XP on it?

Thanks all.
User avatar
Notarola
Site Admin
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by Notarola » Sun Apr 22, 2018 3:58 pm

Win 7 32 runs the AS CPS with no issues. You will need a rib box and the serial cable unless you have a USB cable designed to fit the Spectra DB15. If there is no USB cable available then you will need a USB to serial adapter the rib box and cable (DB25 on one end db15 on the other). A FTI based adapter should run fine.
[paypal]Donate[/paypal]
User avatar
wmdecker20
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by wmdecker20 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:42 am

Notarola wrote:Win 7 32 runs the AS CPS with no issues. You will need a rib box and the serial cable unless you have a USB cable designed to fit the Spectra DB15. If there is no USB cable available then you will need a USB to serial adapter the rib box and cable (DB25 on one end db15 on the other). A FTI based adapter should run fine.

Ok. So these items would work for it correct?

Rib box (used to make it cheaper): https://shopwiscomm.com/RLN4008E-RLN400 ... gImGfD_BwE


Usb to serial adaptor: https://www.bestbuy.com/site/insignia-1 ... lsrc=aw.ds

Programming cable: https://www.ebay.com/p/Programming-Rib- ... 8ffff7d318
User avatar
NavyBOFH
Site Staff
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:56 pm
Location: USA

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by NavyBOFH » Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:04 pm

Buy a USB-serial adapter with an FTDI chipset and nothing else - trust me there is a difference and CPS pukes even with a legitimate Prolific chip. As for the RIB, get the "Valley Enterprises" or "Kawamall" one for personal use... its $30 and works just as well as the Motorola one.
FTDI chip cable: https://www.ebay.com/itm/FTDI-Chip-UT23 ... Sw4qBazMPN
RIB: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Programming-In ... Swd4tT7Zv9

As for the programming cable... if you're savvy with some wiring and a D-Sub crimper or a soldering iron - you can build a programming Y-cable that works awesome for less than $15. It will program via the rear DB15... take out your DB15 ignition sense/speaker wire, plug it into programming cable, plug programming cable into DB15, and third end into RIB... makes it much easier to program since you won't be fishing for a 12v source for your programming cable otherwise. Link for the cable: http://www.repeater-builder.com/motorol ... cable.html
Editable Google map for P25 systems. Google P25 Map
To join the "CTF Team" and help support the forum, click "Donate" below!
[paypal]Donate[/paypal]
User avatar
Notarola
Site Admin
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by Notarola » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:12 pm

navy made the one comment I was going to make the FTDI chipset is a must. It looks like you have everything else lined up right. The last version of CPS was v5.03.00
[paypal]Donate[/paypal]
User avatar
RadioRookie
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:49 pm
Location: Between a rock and a hard place

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by RadioRookie » Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:52 pm

wmdecker20 wrote:
Notarola wrote:Win 7 32 runs the AS CPS with no issues. You will need a rib box and the serial cable unless you have a USB cable designed to fit the Spectra DB15. If there is no USB cable available then you will need a USB to serial adapter the rib box and cable (DB25 on one end db15 on the other). A FTI based adapter should run fine.

Ok. So these items would work for it correct?

Rib box (used to make it cheaper): https://shopwiscomm.com/RLN4008E-RLN400 ... gImGfD_BwE


Usb to serial adaptor: https://www.bestbuy.com/site/insignia-1 ... lsrc=aw.ds

Programming cable: https://www.ebay.com/p/Programming-Rib- ... 8ffff7d318
As luck would have it, I sold my last Astro Spectra yesterday. I just happen to have a Kawamall RIB ( also have an OEM RIB) and an OEM programming cable available. All you would need is a usb to serial adapter. Send me a PM if you want to save some more money. I have no use for either of the two any longer.
“When you tell somebody something, it depends on what part of the country you're standing in as to just how dumb you are.”
User avatar
wmdecker20
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by wmdecker20 » Mon May 28, 2018 12:15 pm

Guys, I apologize for the late reply. I got caught up in other stuff at the time and completely forgot about programming my mobile and replying to this thread.

So my laptop is a 64 but so it’s out of the question. So do I need to find a laptop with XP? That would work with the software correct?

After that just need the cable which I can piece together as we discussed above.
User avatar
Notarola
Site Admin
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by Notarola » Mon May 28, 2018 2:49 pm

You can use win 7 32 bit as well. The cable is not that hard to find its the astro25 spectra cable thats a pain to find.
[paypal]Donate[/paypal]
User avatar
wmdecker20
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by wmdecker20 » Mon May 28, 2018 6:50 pm

Notarola wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 2:49 pm
You can use win 7 32 bit as well. The cable is not that hard to find its the astro25 spectra cable thats a pain to find.
Thanks Notorola, I appreciate it.

I was told that it would work with a 64 bit computer, which is what my laptop happens to be unfortunately.
User avatar
wmdecker20
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by wmdecker20 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:45 pm

Ok everyone need some more assistance.

I got my laptop with XP in today and went to read the radio. For some reason it is popping up “Unsupported model”.

Everything is hooked up and has power, is there a reason for this?

I believe the radio used to be dash mount but was converted to remote. Read somewhere that the head has to be powered on, which it is.

Any solutions you can think of? Thanks.
User avatar
RadioRookie
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:49 pm
Location: Between a rock and a hard place

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by RadioRookie » Fri Jun 15, 2018 9:05 pm

What version of CPS are you using? Astro Spectra ? Or are you trying to read wit with Astro 25?
“When you tell somebody something, it depends on what part of the country you're standing in as to just how dumb you are.”
User avatar
wmdecker20
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by wmdecker20 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 9:10 pm

RadioRookie wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 9:05 pm
What version of CPS are you using? Astro Spectra ? Or are you trying to read wit with Astro 25?
I got it. I talked to the guy I got it from and got the correct software from him.

He had sent me 5.03 for it and forgot he programmed it with 5.02. He sent me the correct version and it works great now.
User avatar
Notarola
Site Admin
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Astro Spectra question

Post by Notarola » Sat Jun 16, 2018 8:37 pm

you should be able to use the 5.03 version. Unless the model number is a created one both versions should read the unit fine. No matter since you have been able to read the unit successfully.
[paypal]Donate[/paypal]
Post Reply