What do you use for test equipment?

User avatar
Aes256pro
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 5:47 pm

Re: What do you use for test equipment?

Post by Aes256pro » Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:05 pm

This is what I picked up. http://m.ebay.com/itm/Trimble-ThunderBo ... Ciid%253A1

The seller was great and provided a lot if extra information and support. It's small and very precise.
User avatar
Falcon
Site Admin
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:12 am
Location: US of A
Contact:

Re: What do you use for test equipment?

Post by Falcon » Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:28 pm

Aes256pro wrote:This is what I picked up. http://m.ebay.com/itm/Trimble-ThunderBo ... Ciid%253A1

The seller was great and provided a lot if extra information and support. It's small and very precise.
Nice find! I would like to do something like that, but I'd really like to pick up a net clock. Might have to find a small child to sell first! :o
support@commtechforums.net
Editable Google map for P25 systems. Google P25 Map
To join the "CTF Team" and help support the forum, click "Donate" below!
[paypal]Donate[/paypal]
User avatar
Project25
Wiki Admin
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:30 am
Location: Somewhere where RF is present

Re: What do you use for test equipment?

Post by Project25 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:37 pm

Falcon wrote:
Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:28 pm
Aes256pro wrote:This is what I picked up. http://m.ebay.com/itm/Trimble-ThunderBo ... Ciid%253A1

The seller was great and provided a lot if extra information and support. It's small and very precise.
Nice find! I would like to do something like that, but I'd really like to pick up a net clock. Might have to find a small child to sell first! :o
Depending on how I feel that day...I might let you have access to one of my micro-heathens.

Been awhile since this thread got updated so here's some interesting sides.

About a year ago (now), I purchased a factory refurbished R2670A from Freedom CTE. It was part of a 10 unit trade-in deal they got from Michigan State Police who was upgrading to R8100's. Mine was fully loaded (being an A model) with all of the now out-dated technology test setups (Astro, Type I and II, Securenet, etc). Still good for analog, P25 Phase I but not good for OBT trunking (works like a charm in 7/800 and 900 MHz though).

I've also come into possession of a lot more telecom test sets. The R2600, and I'm told R8000, series monitors are capable of emulating tone remote functions though some math is required as they do not display those audio levels in dBm but in Volts. You can do basic remote and adapter alignments with them but you will need a true dual-channel oscilloscope if you want to use Lissajou paterns to align a 2175 Hz notch filter. I'm still a fan of the Lineman's Helper tool which is specifically geared at playing remote with a dBm read out for RX and TX on the pair but I've also acquired some other test sets which can output -13 to 0 dBm and 1001 Hz to 4000 Hz tone function generators.

While I love my old school Harris buttset, I've also begun using a Fluke TS-54 TDR buttset which is a handy tool. I'm going through a retro phase playing with tone-remotes and consoles. Especially since the current run of Motorola consoles is based off tone and E&M technology when interfacing to consolettes.

Another interesting tool (which is brand new to the market) is the new AEA Liberator series of test units. Specifically, their two port VNA which has full VNA functions as well as spec-an, tracking gen, TDR, RL Bridge and some other nifty features in a semi-low cost unit (~$2500). While I don't have one I've gotten to play with them through development since the sales engineer is a friend and got to function test the final beta unit last week.
User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:53 pm

Re: What do you use for test equipment?

Post by motorola_otaku » Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:43 am

I'm a poor-ass public servant so all I could afford for personal use was a R2660. My old personal, a R2590, died a horrible death when the memory batteries (three AAs!) leaked into 7 of the 12 PCBs. The 2600 series is a capable monitor for doing basic analog TX/RX and duplex tests, but I really miss the spectrum analyzer on the 2590 when it comes to tuning duplexers and filters... most of those I still do on the 3920 at work.

I use a HP 4934A TIMS set for wireline stuff and generating audio for analog radio alignment, but given a choice I'd much rather have a Lineman. Shame they're next to impossible to find used, and when you do people want their weight in gold for one.
User avatar
Project25
Wiki Admin
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:30 am
Location: Somewhere where RF is present

Re: What do you use for test equipment?

Post by Project25 » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:55 am

motorola_otaku wrote:
Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:43 am
I'm a poor-ass public servant so all I could afford for personal use was a R2660. My old personal, a R2590, died a horrible death when the memory batteries (three AAs!) leaked into 7 of the 12 PCBs. The 2600 series is a capable monitor for doing basic analog TX/RX and duplex tests, but I really miss the spectrum analyzer on the 2590 when it comes to tuning duplexers and filters... most of those I still do on the 3920 at work.

I use a HP 4934A TIMS set for wireline stuff and generating audio for analog radio alignment, but given a choice I'd much rather have a Lineman. Shame they're next to impossible to find used, and when you do people want their weight in gold for one.
One of the first R2600 series monitors I used was a R2660. That one is still in service in the Round Rock area (it does have a tracking generator). I kept it at my desk for a good year or so setup for bench testing a specific customer's mobiles (a lot of "radio not working" jobs from a company which purchased their CDM's in 2000 and have yet to purchase anything newer).

My Lineman is a work in progress. When I got it there was a battery tray issue. Replaced and it took a good jolt and has repeated the issue and I just haven't had the time to whip out the iron and fix it (along with some Icom FR4000's sitting at the house with blown power amplifiers). Need to try and find an alignment manual for one…
Post Reply